People Just Do Nothing

Sitting in front of the tv last week I decided I wanted to watch something I hadn’t seen before – basically to stop being lazy and invest in something new.

Netflix told me I would like PJDN, and I trust Netflix. Plus, it was recommended to me based on my interest in The Office, and if this mockumentary was going to be anything like Gervais and Merchant’s classic, then it had to be a winner.

Almost as if its been written by the British duo themselves, PJDN documents the lives of two wannabe MC’s, and is absolutely full of satire. With those awkward looks to camera and cringeworthy catastrophes, we follow the boys in their everyday lives as they hilariously fail to make their radio station, ‘Korrupt FM’, hit the big time.

Taking viewers onto the streets of Brentford, West London and into their bad boy lifestyle, fuelled by drugs, drinking, and meaningless relationships, Grindah and Beats want you to believed that they’re what the “street life” is all about, when really, their sweet naivety sheds light upon the fact that really, they’re anything but. Whilst they still have to run everything past their girlfriends and love all the uncool everyday necessities (like Coco Pops and fabric softener) that everyone else does, the pair superbly satirise the bad boy lifestyle, whilst constantly trying to maintain the hard man façade.

What I love about it is that Grindah and Beats play up to the idiocy of their characters so much so that they unknowingly ridicule and shed light upon the foolishness of their lifestyle. In bringing to light their innocent approach to fame and success (i.e. treating their trip to Ipswich in Chabuddy’s mini van as a sell out worldwide tour), the boys in fact become all the more loveable.

Although I refuse to ever use words like ‘mandem’ and still believe that Huarache trainers are the ugliest things a guy can wear, I have found myself singing ‘Bang! Lyrical blow to the jaw’ on multiple occasions. For sure my new favourite comedy series, and definitely well worth a watch.

Favourite Quote:

Grindah: No one knows what we’re worth.

Beats: That’s right. We’re worthless.

 

Leave a comment