La La Land – two conflicting film reviews

So we went to see La La Land at the weekend in great expectation and excitement (and lots of popcorn and chocolate). Below are our individual takes on the film (we will never agree on movies!), let us know what you thought and help settle the debate!  

Faye

La La Land is a good film, with a good cast and a good story, but it was just that; good. For me it was not as outstanding as the critics and award nominations had led me to believe. A musical should be full of energy and spectacle that makes you want to jump up off your squishy cinema seat and dance in the aisle along with the characters on screen. But while watching La La Land I had no such desire, which was just disappointing. I loved Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling’s chemistry, but they just weren’t strong enough singers and dancers to blow me away. The one exception to this is when Emma sings Audition (The Fools Who Dream) and despite it being just her face in shot, it was so moving I thought I was watching a mini movie. The other songs are catchy enough and the dance routines are full spectacle, if a little awkward in places, and are sufficiently well performed to keep you entertained. What I did love about the film were the colourful costumes and beautiful scenery which manages to maintain the films modernity while complementing the nostalgic element of the musical.

Don’t get me wrong, La La Land is a feel good film and definitely worth a watch, but for me it isn’t a film that ranks among the greats, and I am a little surprised by its domination of the awards.  

Overall rating: 6.5/10

la-la-land-header-planetarium-2_1050_591_81_s_c1

Michaela

As soon as this film began its characters burst into song – the energy and sense of fun was, as it should be in a musical, the perfect way to kick things off. Although I wish there had been a wider range of toe-tapping hair-brush microphone moments throughout the film, those that did feature had me hooked and humming all the way home.

Whilst ‘Audition’ was the perfect way to showcase Stone’s singing talents, others including, ‘A Lovely Night’, were reminiscent of the old school Hollywood films where the likes of Gene Kelly and Fred Astaire would turn a silly scenario into the most awe-inspiring dance routine. Tap-dancing and skipping through the street, Gosling and Stone’s ‘getting to know you moment’ is transformed into something truly magical.

Director Damien Chazelle’s attempt at recapturing the classic style of musical theatre and transforming it into something modern and fun is what I loved most about this film. As such, we get a 21st century world with up-to-date jokes, but with the same kind of movie- magic romance which has made the black and white classics so well loved by audiences today. Whilst this film is not an attempt to completely modernise the musical genre, it successfully manages to indulge the classic themes and styles to create something both relatable and inspiring.

One thing I can’t decide is whether I loved the ending or not – but one thing is for sure, it’s been on my mind ever since. Set ‘five years later’, we hope for Mia and Seb to be happily married, both successful and famous in their chosen fields. Although the latter is correct, their seemingly perfect relationship has clearly suffered. Unknowingly walking into Seb’s jazz club, Mia and Seb now (figuratively) reinact their entire relationship with everything that went wrong, made right. Whatever you make of the ending, it without doubt makes for a wonderful conclusion and an altogether feel good film which I can’t wait to see again.

Definitely the best film I’ve seen at the cinema for a long time:

Overall rating: 9/10

One thought on “La La Land – two conflicting film reviews

Leave a comment